There are people in the world who believe Islam is a monolith; A single ideology with a hive mentality. All Muslims think, act, talk and look the same. All believe in the Caliphate and that it can only be attained by force. It’s a myth perpetuated by willfully ignorant bigots who want to feed you lies to perpetuate hate. These ignorant bigots operate under a number of false assumptions.
The first false assumption: The opposite of love is hate.
This is probably the most universal false assumption that exists today. I’ve met very few people in my life who understand that the true opposite of love is indifference. I personally didn’t come to this understanding until I was in my mid-30s. I think it’s probably the most important life lesson I’ve learned since my parents died.
People who perpetuate the myth do so primarily for two reasons. The first is due to the second false assumption: You have to hate people to kill them. It’s also a very popular misperception. I’ll come back to this one later. The second reason people perpetuate hate is because it’s a powerful emotion. People under its influence are easily manipulated and when you reinforce it, you validate it. Manipulation one of the most highly effective tools used by media, politicians and big business in America on otherwise well-meaning people who have no idea their being used to further policies/agendas that go against their own interests and oppressive ideologies.
The second false assumption (as I mentioned earlier) is that you have to hate in order to kill. I’ve seen this fallacy perpetuated more in the military than anywhere else. The United States Military wants it’s warriors to hate the enemies of the United States. This agenda permeates almost every aspect of the training warriors receive. They go out of their way to piss you off during the training process and encourage you to direct that anger at those who pose a threat to the United States. They want you to associate that anger and the violence you’re learning to inflict with the hatred of those on the eventual receiving end of that violence. I feel compelled to mention at this point that this is not a diatribe against violence. I’ve come to understand it has its time and place in the world. There are people all over who hate the United States and want to see it destroyed. Me and my battle buddies are all that stands between you and those who want to destroy you. Though I no longer serve, I was trained to respond to force with extreme force and I am always prepared to use it. As the cliché goes, there’s no expiration date on my oath to the United States Constitution.
That said, the undeniable truth is this: it’s possible to kill someone without actually hating them. All you have to do is recognize that the individual in question poses a physical threat to you, someone under your protection or just an innocent strangers trying to live their lives whom who you’ll probably never meet. In my opinion, the best warriors are those who can perform their duty dispassionately, compartmentalize acts of righteous violence and not let hate spoil the very thing they’re fighting for. In my case, what I fight for is Freedom of Choice. I’m talking about choices to follow a god or no god, to speak your truth or keep silent, to live your life on your terms…not terms dictated by others.
Terrorists (of all ideologies) have one mission; to make their ideology the ONLY accepted ideology. Despite popular opinion in the currently toxic xenophobic atmosphere, terrorist come in all forms. There is virtually no ideology that doesn’t have an extremist fringe. Buddhists are committing genocide against the Rohingya, Karen, Karenni, Christians and Shan (minority) Buddhists in Burma. The Lord’s Resistance Army is (a.k.a LRA, United Holy Salvation Army and Uganda Christian Army/Movement) a Christian militant group who has been terrorizing Uganda, South Sudan, the Central African Republic and the Democratic Republic of the Congo since the late 1980s. It was recently (and mistakenly, in my opinion) removed from the list of terrorist group by the United States. The LRA has been accused of numerous human rights violations, including murder, abduction, mutilation, child-sex slavery, and using child soldiers. The Army of God is an allegedly “Pro-Life” organization in the United States that has been linked to terrorist acts against women’s reproductive health centers across several states since the 1980s. Bombing of Women’s Health Clinics, the harassment and murder of Women’s Health Care providers are just some of the tactics these alleged Christians have employed. I don’t care what your position is on abortion, you can’t claim to be a Christian and support the terrorism aimed at health care providers. As a supporter of voluntary motherhood, I’m fine with leaving those decisions in the hands of women and their health care providers or my tax dollar being used to provide birth control to human beings who can’t afford it. The government has no business dictating what insurance companies can’t cover or sticking their nose in anyone’s doctor’s office.
Other Christian extremists believe it’s not only permissible but commanded by god that Gays must be killed. Check out Kevin Swanson a Christian Preacher in the united states who recently endorsed Senator Ted Cruz, Governor Bobby Jindal and former Governor Mike Huckabee (all of whom campaigned for the republican nomination for President of the United States) and introduced them at the National Religious Liberties Conference.
Many Christians dismiss these extremist views by saying the folks in the LRA, Army of God and those who support Swanson are not “real” Christians. They point out that Jesus’s message cancelled out all the verses in the Old Testament that pushed the whole kill the gays, adulterers, witches, disobedient children, fornicators, non-believers, blasphemers bull shit. It’s my personal opinion that Jesus left the door open for that shit in Matthew 5:17 “Do not think that I came to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I did not come to abolish but to fulfill.” But I digress…
The same people, who call the “kill the gays” and “kill women’s health providers” assholes non-Christians, laugh at the notion that Islamists and Islamic Terrorists are wrong about the Quran, Hadiths and Sunnah. You can’t have it both ways. You can’t look at people “doing it wrong” in your religion and not accept that a vocal but small (no more than 30%) minority in another religion isn’t just as wrong. There’s a word for people like that. They’re called fucking “hypocrites.”
Stop letting these hypocrites manipulate you. Stop letting them use your ignorance to fill your head with misinformation and half-truths to serve their agenda. Start using your head. If you want truthful answers about Islam, ask a Muslim. There are many groups out there willing to tell the truth and will accept your help in spreading that truth.
I recommend the following organizations:
Muslim Reform Movement http://muslimreformmovement.org/
American Islamic Forum for Democracy http://aifdemocracy.org/
American Islamic Congress http://www.aicongress.org/
To see a list of organizations to avoid, see my prior post “Islamist Spotting 101” https://warriorcitizen.wordpress.com/2013/12/06/islamists-spotting-101/
Comments
  1. peddiebill says:

    I support much of what you say. Certain the vast majority of Muslims are not terrorist and from the recent Pew surveys there is almost universal Muslim distrust of ISIS in countries with Muslim majorities.

    I do however have some reservations about what you say on terrorism. My understanding is that in general most terrorism is a standard way of dealing with a perceived mismatch of power. When a strong power threatens a weak power – terrorism is often chosen as a way of causing maximum damage with the minimum of resource. When the US invaded Iraq one consequence was an apparent threefold increase in Islamic terrorism.

    • slic nic 5150 says:

      Terrorism involves attacks on the innocent to further an ideological agenda. It comes in many forms but is NEVER acceptable or justified.

  2. peddiebill says:

    Totally agree. Killing civilians by terrorism OR dropping bombs or white phosphorus is certainly totally unacceptable – but surely so is NEVER dignifying the killing with propaganda from a Western ideological agenda eg the hunt for weapons of mass destruction (which later turned out to be an unfortunate lie) etc – or is that a step to far in stopping the hypocrisy???

    • slic nic 5150 says:

      I believe there were chemical (not nuclear) weapons of mass destruction in Iraq. Those weapons were moved to Syria before the invasion making it pointless. I don’t believe it was justified and many Americans agree with me. Bush (or should I say Chenney, since he was the mastermind) and his cronies were criminally wrong. The American people said as much in the next election when the GOP was overthrown. Obama just didn’t have the balls to put Bush and his accomplishes in front of the International Criminal Court.

  3. peddiebill says:

    Certainly the chemical weapons used by Saddam Hussein against the Kurds were not only supplied by the US but two US officers showed the Iraqi army how to use the weapons. In my book that was the equivalent of a gross infringement of acceptable behaviour. Unfortunately we shut our eyes to such matters and direct our horror to terrorists.

    • slic nic 5150 says:

      We? Speak for yourself. “… a true patriot … is a lover of his country who rebukes and does not excuse its sins.” – Frederick Douglass

  4. peddiebill says:

    Possibly like me you found it hard to make an effective protest. My main protests were largely ignored. Eg I protested involvement in the Vietnam War, I was a convenor of Scientists Against Nuclear Arms, wrote numerous articles and a text about the causes of Terrorism (Anatomy of Terror) I am afraid even the mainstream Churches had very little serious involvement in the protests and were very muted in their criticism of the Government.

    Of course well after the event we don’t mind our morality showing. Few now defend those who deliberately chose not to notice what was happening in Vietnam, Afghanistan, Iraq, etc etc yet even today it is OK to encourage the bombing of an entire city into rubble then refuse to accept as refugees the innocent victims of the bombing.

    • slic nic 5150 says:

      That’s what happens when fear sets in and mob think starts. I am a veteran of the United States military but, I have always opposed the targeting of non-military (non combative) entities. Had I ever been ordered to do so, I’d have considered it an illegal order and disregarded it accordingly. I support the United States fulfilling it’s obligation to take in the refugees of Syria and Central America.
      One of the most reprehensible aspects of terrorism on the modern battle field is that terrorists use civilians for cover. Collateral damage is getting harder and harder to avoid and (more importantly) to hide in the age of the 24 hr news cycle. Terrorist must be held to account for using civilians as human shields.

  5. GP Cox says:

    I keep hearing that not all Muslims are alike, but I did not find it true when I was still working. Back before ISIS, I could walk through my place of business exchanging hellos and nods to customers and employees – all races and all religions – except Muslim. They would look me square in the eye, put their head down and ram into me. [men and women] They KNEW here in the US, we HAD to let them get away with it. And now look what state we’re in.

    • slic nic 5150 says:

      That’s not been my personal experience with Muslims. I’ve never had an entire religion react to me the exact same way.
      Couple of questions:
      How do you know it was only Muslims reacting that way?
      How do you know (among employees and customers) who was Muslim and who wasn’t?

      • GP Cox says:

        Being mostly women in traditional dress, some accompanied by a man.

      • slic nic 5150 says:

        FYI: “traditional dress” implies all Muslims dress the same. there are 1.6 billion Muslims world wide. many of whom dress IAW their ethic, national and cultural traditions.

        You may be conflating Arab with Muslim. Just as not all Muslims are Arab, not all Arabs are Muslim.

      • GP Cox says:

        You don’t need to get technical – you know what I mean. This was before we all learned about the differences. FYI – I used to wonder why they never smiled, even the children.

      • slic nic 5150 says:

        Unhappy parents raise unhappy children, I guess.

      • GP Cox says:

        But, I’d always been taught that Islam was a peaceful religion and now these people are even more free here in the US – I just don’t get it. I keep trying to understand.

      • slic nic 5150 says:

        I don’t know. Culture shock, perhaps? Immigration is a trade off. You get more freedom but you have to make sacrifices too. You’re severing ties with your homeland, family members…leaving everything you know behind, for a shot.

      • GP Cox says:

        Many others have done it before them – Irish, German, Chinese – from every country in the world – that does not give them the right to take their self-pity out on us.

      • slic nic 5150 says:

        I’ve met many unhappy Irish, German and Chinese people. I’ve also met many happy Muslims. I don’t know what the issue was with the specific Muslims/Arabs you encountered. I do know that nobody is “always’ or “never” anything.

      • GP Cox says:

        I hope the ones I met will one day be happy here.

      • slic nic 5150 says:

        I hope they find happiness but, it’s entirely possible their unhappiness had nothing at all to do with being here.

      • GP Cox says:

        Then my point is made – don’t look right at me and walk into me.

      • slic nic 5150 says:

        I wasn’t there. I don’t know.

  6. peddiebill says:

    The vast majority of Muslims I have met are also fine. The fact that the new Mayor of London is a Muslim suggests that a good proportion of Londoners were not under the impression he was unhappy. But here is a thought. There are clearly big chunks of the US population who support Donald Trump and his Xenophobic attitudes to Muslims. If GP Cox happened to live and work in such an enclave it would hardly be surprising if the recipients of such attitudes showed distinct unhappiness. If they were not disgruntled they would be very far from being gruntled!

    • slic nic 5150 says:

      Like I told GP, I wasn’t there. I don’t know. I do know not all 1.6 billion Muslims world wide are terrorist.

Leave a comment